Five Believer’s Crowns: Heavenly Rewards


What are the Five Crowns for Believers?

“Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, which according to his abundant mercy hath begotten us again unto a lively hope by the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead, To an inheritance incorruptible, and undefiled, and that fadeth not away, reserved in heaven for you, “
1 Peter 1:3-4

True believers have indestructible treasure in heaven laid up for them, including various incorruptible rewards.

The Bible declares that believers can obtain these heavenly rewards including five different crowns.

What are these crowns and how can the believer qualify for them?

The five crowns are:

  1. The incorruptible crown – Being disciplined [temperate] in all things.
  2. The crown of rejoicing – Winning souls for the kingdom of God.
  3. The crown of righteousness – All who love the appearing of the Lord.
  4. The crown of life – All who endure trials for Jesus.
  5. The crown of glory – Those who are godly examples to the flock.



 “Know ye not that they which run in a race run all, but one receiveth the prize? So run, that ye may obtain. And every man that striveth for the mastery is temperate in all things. Now they do it to obtain a corruptible crown; but we an incorruptible.”
1 Corinthians 9:24-25

This is the crown of self-control.


For what is our hope, or joy, or crown of rejoicing? Are not even ye in the presence of our Lord Jesus Christ at his coming?
1 Thessalonians 2:19

“Therefore, my brethren dearly beloved and longed for, my joy and crown, so stand fast in the Lord, my dearly beloved.”
Philippians 4:1

Some have called the crown of rejoicing the “soulwinner’s crown.”


“Henceforth there is laid up for me a crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous judge, shall give me at that day: and not to me only, but unto all them also that love his appearing.”
2 Timothy 4:8

The crown for all those who eagerly await the coming of the Lord.


“Blessed is the man that endureth temptation: for when he is tried, he shall receive the crown of life, which the Lord hath promised to them that love him.”
James 1:12

“Fear none of those things which thou shalt suffer: behold, the devil shall cast some of you into prison, that ye may be tried; and ye shall have tribulation ten days: be thou faithful unto death, and I will give thee a crown of life.”
Revelation 2:10

The crown of life is sometimes been called the “martyr’s crown.” But all who endure persecution and suffer for Jesus will receive a crown of life. Perhaps that is why the apostles rejoiced at the thought of suffering persecution for the name of Jesus?

“And they departed from the presence of the council, rejoicing that they were counted worthy to suffer shame for his name.”
Acts 5:41


“Feed the flock of God which is among you, taking the oversight thereof, not by constraint, but willingly; not for filthy lucre, but of a ready mind; Neither as being lords over God’s heritage, but being examples to the flock. And when the chief Shepherd shall appear, ye shall receive a crown of glory that fadeth not away.”
1 Peter 5:2-4

Some have called this reward “the shepherd’s crown” or the “pastor’s crown.” But Paul says those who are examples to the flock will receive this reward.


The Bible speaks of other heavenly rewards. Revelation 2 and 3, as well as Revelation 21:7 tell of eight very specific rewards for all “overcomers.”

God’s Word promises other rewards (for example: Rev 11:18, 2 Cor 5:10-11, 1 Cor 3:10-15) for believers as well.

Are you working for your eternal reward? Will you receive any crowns?

“And, behold, I come quickly; and my reward is with me, to give every man according as his work shall be.”
Revelation 22:12

[NOTE: The apostle Paul likens the crowns to earthly laurel wreaths given to worldly champions. However, the 24 elders in Revelation have golden crowns.  What each crown looks like is a matter of speculation.]


by Jeremiah J. Jameson
–with Mondo Frazier

image: ETPR/vectorolie,

© Jeremiah J. Jameson and End Times Prophecy Report, 2012-13. © Mondo Frazier, DBKP and End Times Prophecy Report, 2007-13. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Jeremiah J. Jameson and End Times Prophecy Report with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Link Disclaimer: inclusion of links to other blogs/websites is not necessarily an endorsement of all content posted in those blogs/websites.

Author: Jeremiah J Jameson

End Times Prophecy Report - Publisher and author

18 thoughts on “Five Believer’s Crowns: Heavenly Rewards”

Love it? Hate it? Be biblical! We occasionally respond to biblical comments, questions and/or remarks.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s